Accelerating Higher Education Expansion and Development (AHEAD)

  • Objective – to expand, diversify and develop the higher education sector in Sri Lanka to drive economic growth through knowledge-based industrial and service sector activity and to produce graduates of global quality
  • Financed by – World Bank through Ministry of Higher Education and Highways (MHEH)
  • Method – Focuses on THREE result areas, using Program-for-Results (PforR) financing instrument (disbursement of funds is directly linked to the achievement of specific program results)

Universities are categorized into two tiers

  • Tier One – older, more established Universities which were not located in conflict affected areas – CMB (University of Colombo), KLN (University of Kelaniya), MRT (University of Moratuwa), OUSL (Open University of Sri Lanka), PDN (University of Peradeniya), RHN (University of Ruhuna), SJP (University of Sri Jayewardenepura)
  • Tier Two – Universities that were established after 1995 (new universities) and Universities affected by the 30 years of conflict in the Northern and Eastern Provinces – EUSL (Eastern University Sri Lanka), JFN (University of Jaffna), RUSL (Rajarata University of Sri Lanka), SEUSL (South Eastern University of Sri Lanka), SUSL (Sabaragamuwa University of Sri Lanka), UVPA (University of Visual and Performing Arts), UWU (Uva Wellassa University of Sri Lanka), WUSL (Wayamba University of Sri Lanka)

Within universities, Faculties are groped as STEM and HEMS:

Official Website for the AHEAD Project – http://fos.cmb.ac.lk/ahead/index.html